Alan Hollinghurst


Alan Hollinghurst is the author of five internationally acclaimed novels, The Swimming-Pool Library, The Folding Star, The Spell, The Line of Beauty and most recently, The Stranger’s Child which was longlisted for the 2011 Man Booker Prize.


Winner of the EM Forster Award and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize, he was chosen as one of the twenty Best of Young British Novelists in 1993 and was nominated for the Booker Prize in 1994.


The Line of Beauty won the 2004 Man Booker Prize and was shortlisted for the 2004 Whitbread Novel Award, the Commonwealth Writers Prize, America’s National Book Critics’ Circle Award, and the author was nominated for the British Book Awards’ Author of the Year Prize.